Rewind, Selecta!

Tha Swizzle
Tha Swizzle

Okay that does it. After one too many Dolores Park Swizzles the other night, my biggest fan convinced me to start this music blog thing back up again.

Never mind that my WordPress theme is broken, that all the old links are dead and that most of the blogs on my friends & influencers list don’t even exist any more. Eight years is a long enough hiatus, and upon spending a day soul-searching (read: hungover), I’ve decided to jump in head first, throw caution to the wind, Carpe Diem, etc. We’ll just have to live with things being a little broken for awhile, but you’re used to that I’m sure, because life amiright?

So now without further ado, I present my favorite find of the month: Daft Punk – Doin’ it Right, ft. Panda Bear of Animal Collective fame.

How cool is it that the “Official Audio” is a video of a record on a turntable? I’ve had mixed feelings about the latest Panda Bear album, so it’s nice to hear something that harkens back to the Beach Boys-esque harmonies from his Person/Pitch days. There’s a great short interview with Noah Lennox where he talks about listening to Daft Punk in the car with his brother, later trying to get them to remix an Animal Collective song, and finally getting to collaborate with them in the studio. I sort of missed the boat on Daft Punk myself, and had mostly ignored the latest album due to the complete over-saturation of “Get Lucky” on the airwaves, but watching the 1997 “Around The World” video Noah mentions in the interview, you can trace some of the influence these Frenchie diskotech boys have had on LCD Soundsystem, Skrillex, and just about anyone making electronic music these days (which is virtually everyone).

That’s them /btw, ca. 1995 in the photo at the top of this post, just after Stereolab put out their first (pretty terrible) songs under the band name Darlin’. One reviewer called them “a daft punky thrash,” and the rest, of course, is music history.

Extra Credit: 

Dolores Park Swizzle Recipe (Food & Wine)

A Visual History of Daft Punk’s Helmets (Daft Club)

Explaining the genius of Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky”—using music theory (Owen Pallett/Slate)

